Carmel Symphony Orchestra Masterworks 2

1 Carter Green
Carmel, IN 46032
(317) 843-3800
Dates: November 13, 2021
Time: 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Price: Tickets start at $18
  • Overview

    Glinka              Russlan and Ludmilla Overture

    Marquez          Danzon No. 2

    Shostakovich    Ballet Suite No. 1

    Price                Symphony No. 3 in C minor 

    Experience the Exceptional with the CSO! This concert opens with the famously known Glinka Russlan and Ludmilla Overture. The rhythms from Marquez Danzon No. 2 may have you wanting to dance from your seat! Followed by Shostakovich Ballet Suite No. 1, which was originally written as “light” music of recycled bits of previous ballet, film, and other scores that were intended for radio only. He wrote five “Ballet Suites” just to be able to keep money in his bank account! This concert closes with the Florence Price Symphony No. 3 in C minor. Price is known for being the first black woman composer to be performed by a major American orchestra. This particular symphony will take you through a journey of musical risks, strange asymmetries, dissonances and a variety of moods. A must hear piece!

    *All information is accurate at the time of posting – content is subject to change.

  • Map